Frozen with The Wolf of Wall Street in The Grand Budapest Hotel (Geddit?)

Right, so I had a bit of a bum-weekend i.e. I bought a load of unhealthy crap – which I  seriously regretted because I had no money for dinner the next day- and sat in front of my television/laptop and did nothing but watch stuff. There was a That 70s Show marathon on Saturday, so I figured, why the hell not. From 2 in the afternoon until about 7, when I fell asleep. When I woke up, around two hours later, I felt even more bummed out, so I thought a nice Disney movie would cheer me up. That Disney movie being Frozen. There was a lot of hype about this film, and it even won an Oscar for the song ‘Let It Go’ – which I have been shamelessly singing in my horrific falsetto – and for Best Animated Picture as well, so I was expecting a lot.

MV5BMTQ1MjQwMTE5OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjk3MTcyMDE@._V1_SX640_SY720_

And do you know what? It was good. It was so good. It didn’t follow the usual Disney format, that’s for sure. ‘You can’t marry a man you just met.’ Consider my mind blown. I seriously thought that that was Disney philosophy in life. The music in it was actually better than Disney’s usual ‘I’m so conflicted’, and ‘I’m so in love that I will make a horrible decision which is what this movie is basically about’ stuff. Let It Go is a bit more pop-like, deviating from Disney’s usual la-di-da music, and is also the pivotal song of the movie. Sure, it took a while for it to grow on me. First time I heard it, I was like ‘Meh’. Second time round, I changed to ‘Huh’. Third time round, I was singing along with Elsa, and learned the basic chords for the piano. No, I don’t play piano. But I do for ‘Let It Go’.

Despite the fact that it was slightly over-hyped and the fact that ‘Let It Go’ won an Oscar while ‘Happy’ by Pharrell Williams – another one of my favourites – was nominated in the same category did not sit well with me, it was still a good film, and definitely worth a watch.

Don’t watch it for just the songs. Watch it for Olaf.

Okay, so where was I? Ah, yes. On my matrass (because I had to bring the bed to the television, and I couldn’t be bothered moving the whole bed. Or the television.) shedding pathetic tears over a Disney movie. I decided it was time to adult-up, and pronto. So I went from the most innocent of Disney movies, to the Wolf of Wall Street.

hr_The_Wolf_of_Wall_Street_14

Boy, did I adult-up fast.

Sex, drugs and rollin’ in the dough is the basic story of this movie. Jordan Belfort, who is portrayed by Leonardo DiCaprio started from a small time stock-broker to become one of the biggest money makers in Wall Street. I didn’t fully understand what the hell they talking about 87% of the time – me and business don’t mix well – but you get the general gist. And I still enjoyed it.

As you know – provided you haven’t been on Mars for the past year – there was a big hoopla about the Leonardo DiCaprio winning an Oscar. Not for his performance in TWOWS, but for his consistent brilliance in every role he plays. That’s what the Oscars should be about. Consistent brilliance. Not One hit Wonders, like Eminem. People only realized this now, now that he has been in about 30 different movies or so, playing characters from mentally-ill teenagers to slightly deranged Wall Street stock-broker. It’s astonishing, when you think about it.

So when you do watch The Wolf of Wall Street, don’t watch it because of the hype. You do that and you will always be disappointed. Watch it with an open mind. Also, boys, prepare for the sex scenes. Take the necessary precautions. It is rough, but totally worth the awkwardness.

So basically, since my weekend consisted of being an over-emotional hormonal teenager, I decided that I needed to spoil myself a little. I felt like I deserved it. So during the week, I went to a small-time cinema that DOESN’T ALLOW POPCORN – I do not agree with that AT ALL – and spent the best 6.50 I’ve ever spent. On the Grand Budapest Hotel. Not the actual Hotel. Like, the movie. You know what I mean.

The Grand Budapest Hotel  This, I think, can go on my list of favourite movies of all time. Why? I hear you ask.

Well, my dear reader, the reasons are quite simple.

1) The colour

Yes, folks. The colour. They are oddly noticeable. The bold purples, the yellows, the bright reds. It’s weird. I’ve never noticed the colour in a movie, and this one forces you to. That purple will stay with you for the rest of your life.

 

2) The script

Once again, I’ve been blown away by the script of this movie. It’s what gives this movie it’s hint of brilliance. Not that it needed it. But still. Just like V for Vendetta, the words flowed and told the story in ways that words only can. It’s… hard to explain. But just listen out for Ralph Fiennes, and his constant recital of poetry. Big up to Wes Anderson – who was also the director – for writing this masterpiece.

3) The cast

The cast was obviously carefully chosen, and well chosen too. Featuring Ralph Fiennes, as Gustave H. the concierge of The Grand Budapest Hotel, and introducing Tony Revolori as Zero, his protégé. It also has Jude Law in a bath tub, Saoirse Ronan with a sizable birthmark, Edward Norton with a moustache and Willem Dafoe with the scariest thing against cats. It’s a cast like no other. I love it.

If those three reasons aren’t enough for you, then here is the trailer. Just in case you haven’t seen it.

Convinced yet?

So I have seen Red Dawn, just like Friend Ciara recommended – though I would not recommend you to watch it – I’ve gotten back into Castle and Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D, GAME OF THRONES SEASON 4 OUT ON THE 6TH OF APRIL YAY.

But that’s all for my next update.

Let’s hope I’ll make it until then, eh?

Until next time,

R xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

