Well, I’ll be damned.

It’s 2014, folks. That means, screwing up dates when you write them, a brand-spanking new batch of New Year’s Resolutions, all designed to be broken by at least mid-February, but most importantly, 2014 means a clean slate. Nothing has happened yet, nothing has screwed up. New year, new beginnings.

Right?

So, a lot of things have happened over the course of the past two months. I mean, let’s not talk about the fact that, before December 13th, I hadn’t gone to the cinema since 2011, but I’ve now gone twice in the  past two weeks, all thanks to Peter Jackson’s The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug. Let’s ignore the fact that I was very nearly driven to tears by Matt Smith’s farewell in his final episode of Doctor Who. Let’s forget, just for one moment, that Derek Landy didn’t break my heart with Last Stand of Dead Men. Let’s just assume, for the moment, that I consider forgiving Steven Moffat and Mark Gattis for the best season of Sherlock yet.

Let’s assume that I actually have a life that is not dominated by television or books or fictional character.

The most terrifying thing has happened, people. Something that has changed the course of my life forever.

I started college.

Now, I know what you are thinking. ‘Geesh, a little late in the year for that, don’t you think?’

Well, no. My course accept people in February as well. So there. I’m not late.

Terrified, sure. But never late.

So far, it’s going alright. I’ve been out of the science scene for quite sometime, and I feel a little out of my depth. Especially with Chemistry. What is it with Chemistry, and this determination to give someone the half truth about it? It seems like most of my secondary school education was a blatant lie. But anyway, I’m trying to get over it by – you’ve guessed it – drowning myself in irrelevant but entertaining television and film. I’ll make a list, because apparently, that is one of my few talents.

1. Almost Human – the cases are just getting better and better. Fully and irrevocably in love with John Kennex a.k.a. Karl Urban and Dorian a.k.a. Michael Early.

2. Sleepy Hollow – Remember when I said that I was watching it to see what would happen? Well, fuck did it happen. It seems that the biggest twist of 2014 so far goes to Sleepy Hollow. BEST. FINALE. EVER.

3. Lord of the Rings trilogy – after the somewhat traumatizing effect the Hobbit 2 had on me, I had to revisit the goldmine from which it originated. I say goldmine, because it is as wonderful and glorious as it is addictive. As is it precious. Preeeeciouuuussssss….

4. The Dark Knight – I needed to see this, because I have always heard of the brilliance behind Heath Ledger’s acting in this, and wanted to see it for myself. I was not disappointed. Joker, congratulations, you have made it into my top 10 favourite psychopaths of all times.

5. Almost Time – It is rare to catch me willingly watching a rom-com, but this had a ginger in it, so I kinda had to. And the ginger was a Weasley, so I really did have to. It was good, actually, better than expected, very funny, sad at times, but beautiful in the message it sends across. Appreciating life for the bitch it can be.

6. How to Train You Dragon – Yes, so I watched it again. So what? What are you going to do, sue me? It’s one of my favourite movies. So shut up.

7. Brooklyn Nine Nine – Genius comedy series starring Andy Samberg as the wonderfully childish detective Jake Perolta and Andre Baugher as his stern yet lovable chief, Captain Ray Holt. I love it, I really do.

8.Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – So I read the book a few years back, and while I remembered being somewhat moved by the story, I felt it lacked the life that we take for granted in most books. The movie brought it to life. I nearly cried, sure I did, because of the performance of the young actor, THomas Horn. He was brilliant. Why the hell didn’t this kid get an Oscar? Is this the new Leonardo DiCaprio that they are trying to create here?

9. Thor – The only good thing about this movie was the amount of good looking men in it. Also Kat Dennings. Not as willing to watch the second one now.

10. Shaun of the Dead and The World’s End – Four words, dear people. Simon. Pegg. Bloody. Brilliant.

That more or less or so covers the whole lot. I think.

I know it’s been a while since I wrote on this blog, but I think it’s about time I dusted it off and gave it the love it deserves.

I’m back, and will be staying for the unforseeable future.

Beware.

Until next time,

R xx

2 thoughts on “Well, I’ll be damned.

  1. Seriously, Woman, you are a wonderful writer.
    I know you told me that before I read it, but I was still really impressed with the way you write anyway.
    I have not seen the Hobbit part two yet, but I really really want to!! I heard it was amazing…. and I’ve never watched Almost Human or Sleepy Hollow xD
    Sounds like I need to.
    ❤ Krissy (theladywrath, kriskrossness, etc etc so on and so forth )

Leave a Reply

