X-Men: First Class and ASDFGHJKKL

Another random fact about me.

Because I grew up in a house full of boys, I only owned one Barbie doll – which I don’t want to talk about – but I was fluent in Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

I even had the toys.

I couldn’t stand My Little Pony, but I was all over Yu-Gi-Oh!.

Tom-boy isn’t really the word, because I loved Totally Spies and stuff, I just wasn’t your average girl.

And as I got older, my taste kind of went along with it; I would rather watch a superhero movie than a chick-flick.

Hence why I have yet to see Mean Girls.

So I would be quite experienced in things like The Avengers and X-men.

But because of my oh-so-busy life and my oh-so-stressful exams, I hadn’t the time to watch all the movies I wanted to, etc. etc.

So that’s what I am dedicating this summer to.

X-Men first Class has always been one of those movies that I have been meaning to watch and as a Marvel fan, I was kind of obliged to. I won’t lie, I had high expectations. I wanted Marvel to beg and grovel for forgiveness after The Last Stand, where they basically killed off everyone who was lovable.

And I do not forgive easily.

The thing with sequels and prequels is that we are wired to compare like with like. So we automatically compare the young Charles Xavier to the old Professor X, and the young Eric Lensherr to the old Magneto.

But they completely baffled me. X-men: First Class was not only unapologetic, but threw my accusation back in my face in the form of James McAvoy.

I mean, what an amazing man, with an amazing accent.

I remember listening to a BBC Radio 1 interview where he was talking to Nick Grimshaw and I didn’t hear a word he said.

I was just drowning in the beauty of his voice.

His voice…

I’m actually going to make a list one of these days of actors with beautiful voices.

It’s not just that, though.

As Charles Xavier, he was absolutely brilliant.

He was funny, charming and even a bit sarcastic at times, but you could see the similarities between Patrick Stewart’s Professor X and his. However, I would prefer the younger Charles Xavier, because let’s face it, he’s James McAvoy.

Michael Fassbender as Eric Lensherr was interesting. I am pretty sure that in all the other X-Men, Magneto had an English accent. In First Class, however, he had an American accent. And he spoke a ridiculous amount of languages.

Also, Michael Fassbender has a very funny angry face. I don’t know why it’s funny, but it is.

I bet that now, whenever you see Michael Fassbender’s angry face, you will laugh.

Another mistake that, not I, but my friend Shauna spotted was the fact that in X-Men Origins: Wolverine, Professor X, played by Patrick Stewart hadn’t been paralyzed yet when he saved Wolverine – Hugh Jackman – from the building. However, in X-Men: First Class, Professor X was already paralyzed, and he hadn’t saved Wolverine yet.

Thank you, Shauna. I owe you a beer.

I know, Jackie. I know.

Anyway, now for some exiting news.

I think this calls for some big, exciting lettering.

And a drumroll…

THERE…

Wait for it…

Will…

Wait for it…

BE…

Wait for iiiiiit….

A HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON 2!!

*screams for 25 minutes*

How to train your Dragon has got to be one of my favorite Dreamworks movies, apart from Shrek 2, and I am so excited 😀

Ever since I watched How to Train Your Dragon, I wanted a dragon like Toothless.

I still want a dragon like Toothless.

Anyway, according to Twentieth Century Fox Film Cooperation, this is the story line of the second HTTYD:

“It’s been five years since Hiccup and Toothless successfully united dragons and vikings on the island of Berk. While Astrid, Snoutlout and the rest of the gang are challenging each other to dragon races (the island’s new favorite contact sport), the now inseparable pair journey through the skies, charting unmapped territories and exploring new worlds. When one of their adventures leads to the discovery of a secret ice cave that is home to hundreds of new wild dragons and the mysterious Dragon Rider, the two friends find themselves at the center of a battle to protect the peace. Now, Hiccup and Toothless must unite to stand up for what they believe while recognizing that only together do they have the power to change the future of both men and dragons.”

*faints with excitement*

So guess who is going to sit among the kids in the cinema to watch this?

Hell, yeah.

Until next time,

Rivanna xx

(PS: I want to say thank you to those who have read this blog and told me what they thought about it:D Under which, Róisín, Ayisha(t), Kelly, Ciara and Michael. Cheers, babes:D)

Leave a Reply

