Going to Plan

I had a late night babysitting last night, so I decided to catch up on my list of movies and series I said I’ll watch/catch up on during the summer.

So I watched V for Vendetta, Snow White and the Huntsman, The Three Musketeers and got half way through the first season of Broadchurch.

But first let me give a rating for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – I kind of forgot to do that last time.

So…

Who: If you liked Red Lights, Inception, Side Effects, and movies in that category, then yes, this is the film for you.

Where: Somewhere you can be alert and focused. Preferable watch the whole thing in one sitting, not in 2500, like I did.

When: I would advise you watch it after you have watched Inception, the Queen of all Mind-Fucks. After you watch Inception, you can watch anything.

Why: If you want to see acting perfection, which any logical person would, and if you like losing sleep over the confusion of a movie, which any logical person would, then why the hell not?

Now… V for Vendetta.

I’ve wanted to watch this movie for too long now.


I wanted blood. I wanted gore. I wanted revenge. I wanted fighting scenes which would encourage me to take up karate for a day.

And that’s what I got.

But I no longer care for it.

It was the script, people. The script was beautiful.

I’m not the person who would comment excessively on the quality of film. Yeah, I like to know the name of the director and the actors and stuff. I like to know where it was filmed, etc. But that is about it.

I kind of feel guilty, because I have never given the script the attention they deserve. It’s the words that give life to a movie, and the words that can kill it.

So big-up to Lana and Andy Wachowski – who were responsible for The Matrix and the Cloud Atlas – for writing it.

The script for V for Vendetta was so beautiful – especially in the case of the character V – because it flowed and it inspired. I felt like getting up and revolting against life itself. Here’s one of my favorite quotes from the movie:

“Beneath this mask there is more than flesh; beneath this mask there is an idea, Mr. Creedy, and ideas are bulletproof.”

And it wasn’t just the words; the way that they were conveyed, the velvety smooth voice of Hugo Weaving added hugely to the show. The play on words and Weaving’s excellent diction helped too. Another quote I greatly enjoyed hearing:

“Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished. However, this valorous visitation of a bygone vexation stands vivified and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin van guarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition! The only verdict is vengeance; a vendetta held as a votive, not in vain, for the value and veracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous. Verily, this vichyssoise of verbiage veers most verbose, so let me simply add that it’s my very good honor to meet you and you may call me “V”

Go on. Say it out loud and laugh at yourself:D

And Natalie Portman. I mean, wow. I never had doubt that she was an excellent actress, but this movie simply emphasized that fact. I mean, her hair was being shaved.

What a sacrifice. What a sacrifice.

So, I would give it a four stars out five.

Until tomorrow (or next),

Rivanna x


Leave a Reply

